Who do you say that I am.

DSCN7906n

13 When Jesus came into the region of Caesarea Philippi, He asked His disciples, saying, “Who do men say that I, the Son of Man, am?” 14 So they said, “Some say John the Baptist, some Elijah, and others Jeremiah or one of the prophets.”

15 He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?

16 Simon Peter answered and said, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” 17 Jesus answered and said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah, for flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but My Father who is in heaven. Matthew 16: 13-17

Who Do You Say That I Am.

So, I lead nightly worship sets at a local prayer/worship house called The Fig Tree. The other morning during my set, I felt that there was a recurring theme as I was singing and waiting on the Lord. A chorus that came that morning was: “There’s power in who you are, in who you are.”…talking about Jesus. …but as I kept singing and waiting I felt that the Lord switched the words around and was singing over us: “There’s power in who you are, in WHO’S you are. You belong to me.” God was speaking.

The following day after the set, those words in that chorus came back to me.

There’s power in who you are, in who you are

There’s power in Who you are, in Who’s you are.

You belong to me.

I believe that as we truly begin to know who He is PERSONALLY, in our own lives, our identity becomes clear. Our identity will only get stronger and stronger as we discover Who God is.

Why?

We were made in His image…In His Likeness.( Genesis 1:27) and He saw everything He had made and saw that it was good.( Genesis 1:31) He Designed us with purpose for the long haul. He made us for fellowship and for love.

There is great power when we step back and let Him be our strength and might.

Our Identity is in Christ. Our Identity should be found in Who God says we are. Our identity should be rooted in what God thinks about us. If we believe God, we should be expectant and filled with hope, knowing to whom we belong.

Who do you say that I am? ..it’s a personal question. How has He made himself known to you in your life? Forgetting and throwing aside how others have described Him to be. Who is He to YOU?

I believe different seasons of our life portray different characteristics of God. I believe there is a reason and a lesson in every season that we journey through…and I would add to that, that in EVERY season, we learn something new about who God is to us as He so chooses to reveal a little more about His nature.

I’ve had seasons where God has showed Himself to be my Father. I have had a seasons where He has been my comforter; a friend that never gives up and never lets go. There’s been seasons where He has revealed His kindness, His mercy, even His correction, BUT in all seasons, I have seen and I know Him to be Faithful and Loyal to always be with me no matter what.

God desires to reveal Himself in greater ways than we could ever imagine or dream of. He says to us, “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” (Jeremiah 33:3) In another translation it reads, “Great and Mighty things”. He wants to show us. He wants to have fellowship with us.

We get closer and closer to being more like Him as we search Him out, as we know Him more. As we desire more and more to know His goodness, His kindness, His wisdom, His heart, we become steady and deeply rooted; stronger in Him.

One thought on “Who do you say that I am.

Leave a Reply

